it’s that time again – my favorite/best(?) albums of 2013

10 Dec

drake_jpg_630x400_q85 Every year I struggle with same question: Are my favorite albums of the year also the best? Well, I decided long ago that the “favorite/best” concept was going to be my organizing principle, not copping to the music critic imperative to list “really cool” records that you listen to once or twice and file away forever. Here ya go. I listened to the Drake album every day since it was released. Some days twice.

1 – Drake, Nothing Was The Same


 
 
2 – Daft Punk, Random Access Memories

 
 
3 – Courtney Barnett, The Double EP – A Sea of Split Peas


 
 
4 – HAIM, Days Are Gone

 
 
5 – Parquet Courts, Light Up Gold

 
 
6 – Ariana Grande, Yours Truly

 
 
7 – Kanye West, Yeezus

 
 
8 – David Bowie, The Next Day

 
 
9 – Laura Mvula, Sing To The Moon

 
 
10 – Jonathan Wilson, Fanfare

 
 
11 – Chance The Rapper, Acid Rain

 
 

Runners up:
Jagwar Ma – Howlin’
Danny Brown – Old
Disclosure – Settle
Primal Scream – More Light
Run The Jewels – Run The Jewels
Jim James – Regions of Light and Sound of God
Autre Ne Veut – Anxiety

In case you’re wondering:
1 – I don’t get Lorde. Sorry.

Some of my favorite songs of the year are on this spotify playlist. Listen below:

Leave a comment