the am radio jams of Mrs. Magician

27 Jan


I was raised on 60’s AM radio, so I have deep deep fondness for 3 minute hooky classic pop songs. As one famous bubblegum music producer once said: “Don’t bore us – get to the chorus!” Now – like you probably, I can also dig a long psychedelic chillwave wipeout and a 20 minute P-Funk jam. Still I’ll take More Today Than Yesterday, The Association, Incense & Peppermints, The Tempts, Boyce & Hart, Tommy James, any day, any time. I guess what I like most about San Diego’s Mrs. Magician is that they remind me of those great AM radio days, sifted through a modern fuzzy lens of the blog rock. These two new songs on their 7-inch single are two sides of wonderful AM sounding pop.

Download: The Spells – Mrs. Magician

Leave a Reply

