Bettye LaVette Sings The British Rock Songbook

16 May

Soul singer Bettye LaVette is one class act. Her new album Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook is being released on May 25th on Anti- Records. Cover songs can be a funny thing; the best ones in my humble opinion, are the ones that give new meaning to the original. So, one look at the track listing below one can’t help but ask – how the heck is Bettye LaVette going to treat these classics? I mean, these are songs so good and so well known, perhaps they shouldn’t even be covered, right? Well, if LaVette’s amazing cover of this Zep tune is any indication, the rest of the album is gonna cook. Or smoke. Either way, listen to how LaVette completely makes this song her own – you almost forget about the original.

1. The Word (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
2. No Time To Live (James Capaldi/Stephen Winwood)
3. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (Bennie Benjamin/Gloria Caldwell/Sol Marcus)
4. All My Love (John Baldwin/Robert Plant)
5. Isn’t It A Pity (George Harrison)
6. Wish You Were Here (David Gilmour/Roger Waters)
7. It Don’t Come Easy (Richard Starkey)
8. Maybe I’m Amazed (Paul McCartney)
9. Salt Of The Earth (Michael Jagger/Keith Richards)
10. Nights In White Satin (David Hayward)
11. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad (Eric Clapton/Bobby Whitlock)
12. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (Elton John/Bernard Taupin)
13. Love Reign O’er Me (Peter Townshend)

Download: All My Love – Bettye LaVette
Via Spinner


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: